Reviews

5
based on 16 reviews
Paula (Tacoma, WA)
Perfect weekend getaway

This place was terrific! Everything we needed was provided, and the whole cabin was spotless. We were very comfortable staying here, as was our pet dog. The backyard was so cute with lights, a fire pit, sticks for roasting s’mores, and grills. The hot tub was perfect, and it’s covered so you can enjoy it even when it’s raining. My now fiancé and I got engaged in the backyard near the fire pit! It was a perfect, quiet, romantic setting. Our hosts were even so kind to leave us a bottle of wine chilling in the fridge. They were very attentive and detailed prior to our arrival. Also the location next to Mt Rainier Natl Park was extremely convenient and close to other great hikes. The cabin is also a quick walk to the nearby river, which was an added bonus.

Yayyy!! Congratulations! I'm so happy for you. We were hoping that the rain would just stay away for a bit and happy that things worked out. Now you will have to come back for all the anniversaries :). Thank you for the review. You were awesome guests and we would love to have you come visit us again! Ria & Garth

replied by the owner (10/20/2020 12:40:24 AM)

Young couple  |  stayed in 11/2020

Jessica Johnson (Tacoma, Wa)
The cutest cabin ever!

Fern cabin was everything we wanted and more! We have had a rough couple months and we just needed to get away from the world. We did nothing but enjoy everything the cabin has to offer. We will be retuning for sure, hopefully before the year is up! Also, the homemade nut milk was the best! I’d return for that alone!

Hi Jessica, We are very happy you could get away and enjoy the woods. We would love to have you back and I'll make sure there is more of that nut milk :). Kind regards, Ria

replied by the owner (11/5/2020 2:33:42 PM)

Young couple  |  stayed in 11/2020

Kelly
Perfect cozy getaway

My fiance and I, and our dog spent Thanksgiving weekend in the Sage cabin. We had the best time. The cabin was adorable and cozy, with nice finishes and everything you would need. The location could not be closer to the entrance of the National Park. The hot tub and fire pit were great amenities. If you need somewhere to stay with a dog close to the park, look no further!

Thank you Kelly, we are so happy you enjoyed the cabin and this beautiful area! Come visit us soon again. Ria & Garth

replied by the owner (12/3/2020 5:30:02 PM)

Guests with pets  |  stayed in 11/2020

Mary (Kenmore)
Gem in the forest

My wife and I travel with our dog frequently. We were looking for a place near the Nisqually entrance to the park, but none that we looked into allowed pets. Finally we saw Happy Tails and thought we would give it a try. This was a great find!!! Clean, cute, renovated cabins with everything you could need. A refrigerator, sink, microwave, dishes and a stove. Every cabin/yert has its own fire pit with wood, newspaper and matches provided. The hosts were fabulous, will will be returning again and again. The resident dog is Fern, she loves to play fetch more than anything in the world. She and our dog got along great. Our Gunnar was exhausted by the time we left. We will be seeing you guys this Thanksgiving!!!

Thank you Mary. It was so nice to have met you and Aretha and Gunnar. We are excited for your next visit!! Fern will be so happy to hear Gunnar is coming back.

replied by the owner (10/23/2020 5:51:25 PM)

Guests with pets  |  stayed in 10/2020

Rachel Hayden (United States)
Absolute serenity!

I booked our trip to Happy Tails with a secret agenda in mind - to prove to my husband that we needed to move to the forest permanently. Our stay in Fern cabin did not disappoint. The cabin was tiny and absolutely charming. It was thoughtfully stocked with everything we needed and just oh-so-adorably designed. The property itself was nothing short of serene and our barks-at-everything dog was calm and content the whole time we were there. After our first night there, my husband said, "You've convinced me - let's move to the woods." So thank you, Happy Tails, for partaking in my secret agenda and being so completely perfect that my husband is now convinced that we need forest life for ourselves someday! Until we build our own cabin someday in the future, we will be back!

Oh, that makes us happy! So happy you got to convince your husband and if you ever think of putting up a yurt in the woods, you can always come back for more advice and we will be happy to answer all your questions. Thank you for the visit, we would love to have you back! Ria & Garth

replied by the owner (10/25/2020 7:37:05 PM)

Guests with pets  |  stayed in 10/2020

Diane Broderick (United States)
Exceeded my expectations!!

Everything was absolutely perfect (including the weather) for a two day get away to Mt. Rainier. I was so surprised by how close Happy Tails is to the park entrance. It was my first time staying in a yurt and I was amazed by how much room there was. It was so cozy and warm. Garth and Ria had everything that I needed to make a fire in the wood stove and even a heated mattress pad on the bed. French press coffee and tea available and even freshly baked cookies were on the table when I arrived. I am telling all my friends about this amazing place. I can't wait to return!

Hi Diane, Yes, come back and visit us again! It was so very nice to have you and Margaret out here for a visit. We cannot wait to see you again. Ria & Garth

replied by the owner (11/5/2020 2:36:05 PM)

Single traveller  |  stayed in 10/2020

Carol and Joe
LOVED the beautiful NEW yurt!!

We were the very first guests to stay in Ria and Garth's beautiful yurt. It was so lovely and comfortable. The hosts provided tea, coffee cream and even homemade nut cream for dairy free folks. There were even fresh flowers in the rooms! The bed is super comfortable and on the firmer side for those who like firm beds. We appreciated having 2 stove-top burners, frig, and microwave to make our own meals. The location close to the park is great and the cabins and yurt are well off the road and nice and quiet. We highly recommend staying in the yurt for a beautiful and peaceful stay.

Thank you Carl and Joe. We are so happy you did the 'test run' for our new yurt. We have appreciated your feedback and made a few changes so that future guests can have an even better time. It was great to have you, come visit us again! Ria & Garth

replied by the owner (8/26/2020 12:47:54 AM)

Mature couple  |  stayed in 9/2020

Andrew (Seattle)
Lovely Cabin, Perfect Location

My wife and I stayed in the Sage cabin and had a fabulous time. Ria responds promptly to any questions and is extremely helpful. The cabin was clean and comfortable. Ria left us delicious dark roast coffee, real cream and homemade cashew almond milk. The cabin also had olive oil, salt and pepper, so we didn't have to bring any of those items. The cabin is in the perfect location, about a half mile to the entrance of Mount Rainier. Highly recommended.

Thank you Andrew and Angela. It was so nice to have you out here and to see that you make use of the fresh air! We are looking forward to your next visit. Ria & Garth

replied by the owner (8/26/2020 12:49:17 AM)

Young couple  |  stayed in 9/2020

Stephanie Pinsler (Sage)
10/10

Amazing experience! Everything was more than we could have ever imagined. Can’t wait to return. Thank you!

Hi Stephanie, Thank you for the review. I'm sorry that I'm only replying now, but I'm new to this system and did not know we can access these reviews, oops. It was very nice to have you here at the cabin and would definitely like to see you visit us again! Ria & Garth

replied by the owner (8/26/2020 12:42:24 AM)

Young couple  |  stayed in 08/2020

Sunil and family
Cozy, well-equipped cabin

We had an awesome three nights at this cabin. Ria and Garth were excellent hosts who had thought of every detail. They were warm and welcome. The facilities were amazing and well-maintained. Nice to relax by the fire pit at the end of the day. Very convenient location for visiting the National Park.

Hi Sunil, It was so nice to have you and your family visit us here in the woods. We are so happy that you could enjoy the area and did some exploring. You are very welcome to come and visit us again!

replied by the owner (8/26/2020 12:43:56 AM)

Family with young children  |  stayed in 8/2020

Loading...
Upps!
You're running a web browser we don't fully support. Please upgrade it for a better experience.
Our site works best with Google Chrome.
How to upgrade the browser